The Hunslet Club first opened its door back in 1940 during World War II when a local doctor, John Wyllie wanted to provide local boys with opportunities to grow and develop against the backdrop of the blitz.
His efforts, along with support from the local community led to the opening of “Hunslet Boys Club” within an old school building providing engaging activities for young people including sports, crafts and camping trips
Over the decades the Club popularity with local young people continued to grow. This has resulted in the need to relocate to bigger premises and ultimately in 1971 a move to its current location, a purpose built facility on Hillidge Road in Hunslet. The Club now welcomed girls and activities were developed to include football, rugby, boxing, table tennis, drama and youth club with many of our membership going on to compete in their chosen fields at regional and national level.
Members developed a sense of pride and loyalty to the Club, something that is still prevalent today as we see members from previous eras bring their children and grandchildren to the Club to experience what the Club has to offer. The activities may have changed but the Club ethos remains just the same.